stereo separation

:smiley:

Hi, I’m a newbie here. This is a simple question and maybe it doesn’t belong here. I’ve got Cubase 7 LE. I just have a keyboard and want to record myself with a backtrack. I have Elesis speakers. How do I separate the left & right channels? I don’t see anything on my computer like there used to be in earlier versions of Windows (I have Windows 8) where you could separate the left & right speakers by moving the slider off one of the speakers. I can’t figure out how to do this. Would it be in the speakers I can adjust, or can I do that in Cubase?

I know it’s kind of a simple question, and I have worked with Cubase before, on earlier versions, but if I could help some simple help on this I’d appreciate it.

mike

I am not 100% on exactly what you’re trying to do here.
Are you saying that while you are recording you want only your voice to come out of one speaker and the backing track to come out the other? While recording, mono inputs are usually monitored directly panned in the center. I’ve never had a reason to want to do otherwise. Typically one records vocals while wearing headphones. In which case I think it would be disconcerting for the singer to hear their voice only in one ear with the backing track only in the other ear.

If you want it separated during playback you simply pan one track completely right and one completely left.

Or, are you asking how to create two mono tracks (left & right) from a stereo file? For example you recorded the stereo output of your keyboard into a single stereo track, but now you want them separated so you can effect them independently.

What interface are you using?

:smiley: