Strange behaviour soloing then unsoloing a track

Hi all, noob here. First post. Using Cubase 11 Elements

Some strange behaviour has started happening in my first real mix in Cubase (I used to use it years ago, v6, but not for a very long time)

When I solo a track, it is correctly soloed and all the other tracks are muted. The stereo bus is also Soloed by this action- I don’t know if that is normal but I haven’t noticed it to-date.

The issue comes when I unsolo the track- The track itself is unsoloed but all the muted tracks remain muted and they only return to ‘Normal’ when I then also unsolo the stereo bus.

I have went backwards in backups until I found one that did not exhibit this behaviour, soloing and unsoloing works fine… Until I press the Play button, then after I have done that the behaviour returns even in a project where it was working fine immediately upon loading.

I have spent weeks on this project and to-date soloing and unsoloing has worked absolutely fine and as expected, until yesterday. It is very annoying. Instead of just unsoloing the track I also have to unsolo the stereo bus to get back to full playing across all tracks.

I am quite sure I have done something stupid as I really am learning as I am going, but I cannot figure out what I have done! Any ideas?

Hi and welcome to the forum,

It must be like this, otherwise you wouldn’t hear the output.

Are you talking about Audio track, Instrument Track, MIDI Track, any other track type, please?

If it’s an Instrument track:

• Do you use multi-outputs?
  • Do you Solo in the Project window or in the MixConsole, please?

Thanks Martin,

This was through the MixConsole, I never tried it by soloing in the project window.
I’m not sure what a multi-output is, sorry!

I just went back into it to check on whether its limited to audio, instrument or whatever, and annoyingly it all seems to be fine and back to normal again! Very annoying.

If it comes back I’ll do those tests and report back here.