Suggestions for a Dorico laptop...?

It seems that my 27” iMac is going to give up soon, so my thoughts are with a new computer for my music activities. Although I’m a Mac user, I’m also a musician, meaning not much money to spent. What would be a good laptop choice on which it’s still comfortable to work with large scores?

I would recommend a secondhand 2016 15" MacBook Pro. They have 4-core i7 CPUs so can easily run Dorico; and Thunderbolt 3, so they won’t be obsolete for years.
13" is a bit too small, IMO, leaving you with a tiny area surrounded by the panels.

(I bought a 2014 15" MacBook Pro last year, and it handles Dorico effortlessly, so anything newer will rock.) Also, if you sell your iMac on eBay, that will contribute towards the cost.

Do you need a laptop? I’ve just bought the new Mac Mini, which is amazing!!

I don’t know anything about the Mac mini, I will check it out. Thanks!

“A mac user” and “not much money to spend” are mutually incompatible. You probably need to decide which one to give up :wink:

You can buy a £299 laptop from PC World, but it’s not a MacBook Pro, and I wouldn’t want to run Dorico on it. As my grandmother used to say: “Buy cheap; pay twice.”

A decent, comparable laptop from HP or Dell with HiDPI display and all the trimmings is still going to cost over £1,200. You can spec out a Surface Pro to well over £2,000.

Macs tend to retain their secondhand value better than other brands, so you can sell on older hardware to pay for new purchases.

MacBook Air is very light and portable. For desktop use, it is very easy to connect it to a large monitor for editing and layout. Best of both worlds.

Quad-core for Dorico, if you want to work on projects with more than a few players or more than few flows.

I specifically moved away from a dual-core 2013 MacBook Pro for that reason, and (as far as I know) no MacBook Air is quad core.