Surface Controller - advice please!

I’m a relatively new user of Cubase and all things DAW and VSTs in general really, but have been getting to grips with it and starting to get some decent results. However, my principle keyboard (Roland RD800) is not much of a midi controller and I’m looking at buying an add-on controller - hopefully for not too much money! I know I could buy an alternative keyboard controller, but I don’t want to ditch the Roland and I already have 2 other 61-key ‘boards that might do the job, but at the cost of keybed quality and I don’t have room to set-up and store many more keyboards!
My principle aim is to be able to control instrument expressions when using instruments in my sound library (particularly orchestral). I’m less concerned about having hardware control over Cubase functions, although it would be a bonus if that came too.
I’ve seen the Beringher X-Touch, which looks interesting, but I’m a complete novice at this stuff and don’t really know what I need.
Any help and advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Hi and welcome to forum! :slight_smile:

What kind of instrument expressions did you want to control? Are we talking on/off/toggle key switches? Or variable parameter changes such as volume, vibrato level etc?

To give you an idea - If you wanted a cheap controller that you can sit on your existing keyboard, something like the Korg nanoKontrol2 will give you a lot of control as you get the buttons, faders and knobs in a small space. And despite the size they’re very useable.

With a generic controller like that, you get two options of mapping in Cubase:-

1. Is the plugin supports it - you can map the MIDI CC messages from your controller to the plugin.
  2. If the plugin does not support direct MIDI CC mapping, then you would use the Cubase built-in Generic Remote editor to map to plugins.