Surprising Playback Sounds in Elements 3.5

I am new to Dorico so it is very likely I am doing something wrong. However I am surprised and rather disappointed with the quality of playback sounds I am getting.

Here is what I am doing and maybe someone will spot something wrong…

I have created a score with three instruments. I selected two trombones and a theorbo. I wrote several bars to test the sounds and when I play this it sounds like a cinema pipe organ and certainly not two trombones and a theorbo.

I am now wondering whether my expectation of reasonably persuasive sounds in playback is misguided and perhaps I am using the wrong product.

The sound set included with Elements is not the optimum. You might investigate Note Performer to see if that can provide you with more satisfactory sounds at a relatively low cost (including a monthly purchase option).

(Dorico Pro has a larger, somewhat better HSO soundse, but many still prefer Note Performer to the HALion sounds. For more realistic sounds still, one has to purchase more expensive libraries depending on one’s individual likes and dislikes.)

Thank you Derrek. Again I find that this is a very positive forum.

The sounds are not only sub-optimum; they do not sound at all like the instruments I chose.

I’ll look at note performer as you suggest.

I am trying to migrate my (amateur) work from Notion 6 but this is giving me pause for thought.

The sound set in Elements is nothing to write home about, but it seems like something is wrong in your project. It certainly should sound like a trombone, albeit a cheap one.

In play mode, try reloading your playback template.

Thank you. This idea looks promising. I am not sure that I ever created such a thing as a playback template. How exactly do I reload this playback template? Sorry to be dense.

For instructions on how to change or reset a playback template, see here in the Elements manual.