Sustain Pedal Problem on Cubase 5

Hello everyone, i came here to ask you if anyone knows a solution for the problem i am having with my sustain pedal.

i am currently using a Yamaha P95 with the pedal that came with it (P10 plug), and a simple generic MIDI interface to plug it on my computer (win7) running cubase 5.

the problem is when i am playing VST instruments, whichever the instrument is, the pedal always sustains but also sometimes it presses a note, specifically the note E (Mi), and always with no sensitivity at highest volume possible, making it impossible to play with my sustain pedal…

This is my first post and i am very new to cubase 5 or music production in general.

Thanks everyone for reading!

Hello (and, Welcome! :slight_smile: ),
I presume you haven’t inserted a Transformer FX or the Input Transformer into that MIDI track (because it is possible to use either of those to trigger notes from your sustain pedal on purpose :wink: )
If we can already rule out the above, then I suspect that the sustain pedal is probably also triggering something in Cubase’s Generic Remote Device (don’t worry :wink: )…
Go to the Devices menu> Device Setup. In its “Devices” column, do you see Remote Devices>“Generic Remote”?
If so, click on it, then , in the main body of that Devices window, make sure that “MIDI Input” (near the top) is set to “Not Connected”, then hit “Apply”.
If that wasn’t it, then please describe in more detail how you have set up your MIDI.

Thanks for the welcome!

I am not aware of the Transformer FX and didn’t use it so far.

In the devices setup/remote devices i use my external audio interface also form steinberg, the ci2+ so there is no “Generic Remote” in the tab :<

i verified the midi input and output anyway, selected the midi input and place it as Not Connected, did hit apply and tests the keyboard sustain pedal once again, it is still triggering the note E :confused: