Switching from Alphatrack to CC121. Wise choice?

Hello everyone,

I have been using Alphatrack for more than two years now and I am pretty happy with it, especially when I use it in conjunction with the BCF2000.
What I liked in this unit was that it was portable(USB powered), it has an lcd screen so you know what channel you are affecting, and it is pretty customizable, you can control inserts, sends, etc.

I am thinking of switching to CC121. I understand that it is not as portable as the AT, not so customizable, but it seems to be of much better build quality and it has the most common features I use every day in Cubase.

Here are my concerns/questions:

1. I have noticed that for every new Cubase version there is a new Tools software released. That scares me a bit in the regard that Steinberg does not have a good reputation of supporting their hardware long enough. I mean, will I still be able to use CC121 in Cubase 7 if Steinberg stops supporting it? With Alphatrack I used the same driver for Cubase 4/5/6.

2. I have read here in the forum that the EQ section of the CC121 has a reversed order than in Cubase/Nuendo? I have not seen more info on that so what is going on with this matter? Aren’t the EQ controls of Cubase mirrored in CC121?

3. About the AI knob. This is a big selling factor for me. Can it control everything? For example, can it control sends, 3rd party plugins? I am planning to use it to control the tempo recording slider found in the Tempo track so that I can create smooth accelerandos and Rallentandos.

I believe that the thing I will miss the most is the LCD screen.

I would be happy to listen to your opinions!

Hi,
just replaced my Alphatrack with an cc121.
It’s a great unit. I find the price for it a bit high though. But the build quality is very good.
Also how the fader and knobs respond is excellent. I got it used on eBay. the 370€ for a new one would have been too much for me. The Alphatrack is not bad a t all too.