talkback

Hi
I have been using cubase for a few years, since sx3, and I am trying to get a better configuration for talkback. Currently (cu8.5) I just plug in a cheap dynamic hand held that has an on-off switch and leave talkback ON always. This sucks because I cant use the tb DIM features. Also I have to pass around the mic to clients in the control room and they have to get used to using the switch on the mic…

Clients are not necessarily studio savvy and at 150+/hour people need a lot to make them comfy. I want a stupid simple talkback solution that lets me use the features in the cubase talkback sections of the control room, like stupid simple, like a mic with a button that communicates with cubase

I saw this mic stand from Heil Sound Heil CB-1 PTT with a push to talk button. This is PERFECT, like exactly what I want, but it doesnt talk to cubase to say “turn on or off talkback”, I would have to leave the talkback enabled with no DIM and then use it.

Is there ANYTHING at all that is out there to accomplish this? If there is no “smart mic” in the general concept of the Heil stand, I am probably looking at hanging one of those AT choir hanging mics and then getting one of those stupid USB “Big Button” deals. Im not crazy about a pretty lame button that does not look like great construction being the thing that every client will use to talk to the studio rooms but id rather do that than leave talkback ON in cubase and not get to use the features.

Any ideas thoughts or suggestions? Thank you!

If there is no hardware that will cover this, is there any way to setup in the control room a noise gate that triggers talkback?? So like I buy that Heil mic stand, slap in a cheapie mic, and then anytime I hit push to talk and start talking, it pushes the thresh on the gate and that tells cubase to enable tb? that would be pretty cool!

I went ahead and bought the heil cb-1 tbb, anyone have any links on making this 1/4" t-s jack work to control cubase talkback? Thanks!