Tempo Analysis?

Hi,

I’ve read in several reviews that the C6 Wave Editor can now (like Live) determine the tempo from a part (by analysing the transients) and then set the MIDI tempo to that.

But I can’t figure out how to do it. I’m not interested in anything elaborate… I just want to import a WAV file (an old song) with a fixed tempo and sync bar 1, beat 1 with the WAV —as one can easily do in Live.

So, what;s the trick? Sorry if this is a total noob question. I’m a long time user, but I’ve never spent much time in the audio editor—all the hit point detection stuff was just too much for me head.

Is there a step-by-step instruction somewhere?

TIA!

—JC

Anyone? :cry:

I’m new to Cubase, so I apologize in advance since my knowledge is limited, but there are two ways I can think of that will enable you to achieve what you want. The easiest method is using the new Tempo Detection Tool found in Cubase 6. Here’s a video showing how to use it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzHYtgMs9gg

I’ve used it a few times and it works great when you have a track with a steady (or somewhat steady) tempo. Then, if something is not aligning perfectly, you can grab the TimeWarp Tool to make fine adjustments.

The other way to do it, and this only works when you have a track that’s been recorded to a steady metronome beat, is using the Beat Calculator tool under the Project menu to tap the tempo manually. Set the first beat of the track to beat one, insert the calculated tempo in the Tempo Track and you’re done. You may need to make adjustments in the Inspector but it’s a pretty easy process. Of course the first method above is probably the easiest.

HTH

D’OH! WOW!