tempo control

Since expressiveness and rubato are a big part of what makes music live I’m wondering about how they’ll be supported in Dorico. As a composer I find it hard to determine whether an idea works unless I can hear both those elements. I understand Dorico has implemented flexible dynamics therefore expressiveness. What’s your intention with regards to graphic tempo editing, ie. rubato?
thanks,
S.

Playback in Dorico is currently pretty basic, and although it does include interpretation of tempo marks written in the score, it doesn’t include any rubato or humanisation features as yet. All of these things will come in time, including a tempo map that can be edited graphically.

That sounds great Daniel.

It would be nice to have a tempo map which can be manually edited, either with a mouse or pen, or with a midi controller (using the “read / write / nudge” etc. automation mode). I never quite got the hang of that “live tempo” thing in Sibelius – the results were always pretty crazy. If people want to breath life into the playback by tweaking it here and there, it is really a musical choice they have to make themselves imo, I wouldn’t worry too much about computer algorithms that attempt some kind of “human playback”. Again, in Sibelius this doesn’t really work.

As to the relationship between engraving and playback, my suggestion would be that small tweaks here and there wouldn’t affect the notation; but if it goes beyond a threshold (maybe a preset that can be changed) you would get a warning message. Something like “do you want me to change the lento to presto?” etc.

I’m not familiar with the Live Tempo from Sibelius, but the tempo track in Finale has been one of the best for me of anything. You specify in notation which beats you want to conduct, essentially, then make a run through the piece tapping those tempos in. I’ve found that easier than drawing in tempos in Cubase.

Anyway, just my 2 cents on that.

PS. Is it Wednesday yet?!