The new Re-Record feature is great, but...

after 25 years of press * to stop record, it’s gonna take a while to get used to!

Re-Record is a new and optional way to record. I agree it will take some getting used to, but you can always record the standard way.

Yes I know! I’d prefer if there was another key instead of * which triggered it, like alt+*

Are you saying that this key command is hard-coded? Can’t you just re-assign it like other preferences?

Sure hope so.

In the studio I am mainly an engineer but I can see where self recording musicians
might like that ‘Key Command’ to also be assigned to a foot pedal.

Altho’ for me using the same ‘record’ key would not be soooo bad.

Bottom line for me; this is a simple yet ‘killer function’.
Tanx Steiny.

{‘-’}

It’s hard coded and cannot be changed at present. My original post was said in jest. I will get used to it, but it’s gonna be hard after 25 years!

I haven’t got the new download yet… Are you’re saying is the record button has been reprogrammed so a 2nd click re-records?

Mike.

When you´re in re-record mode- yes.

Careful with this mind… all previous recordings/attempts are GONE as soon as you hit Re-Record…! maybe you play a cool ‘bit’ (a lick/phrase/run) in one pass that you want to emulate in a next more complete pass and well, as we all know, every next take is rubbish - you might not ever get it back…!

Moral…? If you do hit a sweet spot, save it - before hitting Re-Record again (for subsequent experiments etc…)

just saying…

It´s still in the pool, so considering all those drama queens on the forum, let´s not make it more drama than it is…?

Thanks for that clarification. I usually press stop, L, Ctrl-Z and then record again. With Ctrl-Z being optional so that I can keep the take if it had a good start but just failed in the middle. Actually I reckon this is better because Ctrl-Z removes from the pool as well, which keeps it tidier. Have to play with this feature when I’ve upgraded.

Mike.