The plug-in could not be found.

Hello,

This is my first time posting, so please be patient if I’ve done something wrong.

After upgrading to Mac Yosemite, I get the following message from Cubase:

The plug-in “BFD3” could not be found for VST Synth 1!

Does anyone know how I can re-connect BFD3 to Cubase?

By the way, I’ve only recently switched to Cubase after using Pro Tools for many years. I barely know anything about Cubase, but am familiar with studio recording in general.

Hi Tod,

I’m a bit surprised that no one chimed in to help you.

In the meantime, did you ever figure this out?

If not, perhaps I can help.

Hi jamusic,

Thanks for the reply. Wow, it’s been a while! I think I was able to figure this out, because I did do some recording since the problem. However, I recently upgraded to El Capitan, and I’m having the same problem. And, I can’t remember how I solved it the last time!

Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

: ) Tod

Hi Tod,

There is a file stored on your computer called VST Blacklist - [at least I think that’s what it’s called] - but it’s a ‘Blacklist’ nonetheless. Deleting this file should do it, without doing any harm.

Because I’m on Windows,I don’t know where you’ll find it, but it will be with your Cubase Preferences.

In windows, it’s an .xml file.

Perhaps you can do a search for it. Start by looking for Cubase and follow that folder tree path.

Let me know if this helps, or if you need help finding it, we can ask here - lot’s of guys use Macs.

Try it out and see if that works though - let’s start with that. :wink:

Hi jamusic,

I’ve just spent a while trying to find my VST Blacklist (or something like that), with no luck. I did a few searches on the net, and on this site - didn’t find anything applicable. I also had a look in various system folders on my computer, with no luck.

Do you know anyone we could ask where I can find my blacklist, on a Mac?

Tod

Hi Tod,