There are "too many" choices in WL12

I know WL is a GREAT program for mastering and restoration work and I have been using it for 28 years. The current version WL12 is very good BUT there are a lot of “checkboxes” that are stuck away in menus and preferences that are making my life not as “easy” as it used to be. I call it the “opps” problem and all of a sudden things that worked well in WL11 now are either not working or working differently than they did in WL11. I have read the information in the manual but there is just a lot to digest and remember. I think in the rush to make WL12 the be all end all version something’s got changed that should not have gotten changed. I went back to WL11 but that program is no longer working completely and I have noted that in some other posts. These changes are really making my life much more difficult than it has to be and are messing with the normal way I do mastering and restoration work.

FWIW

You likely made some suggestions in the past that were considered valuable and subsequently implemented, as did Mr. X, Y, and Z. Consequently, the application now has more options. However, some features have been removed compared to previous versions of the application. For example, compare the “New” menu of WaveLab 11 with that of WaveLab 12. As you can see, this represents a significant reduction.

WaveLab 11

WaveLab 12

Therefore, I would not say there are overall more options. Additionally, great care is taken to avoid an excess of options. Yet, when a feature is deemed important, it is included.

WaveLab also employs a technique known as Progressive Disclosure to reduce UI clutter by hiding less important options, which I think helps (Progressive disclosure - Wikipedia). Using the old WaveLab 6 or WaveLab 8 UI to support all the features present in WaveLab 12 would have become a mess. If you compare WaveLab 9 and 12, the overall first impression is very similar, an effect of Progressive Disclosure.