Thoughts on WLab

I’ve been a WLab user for many years. I think I started with version 3. The last version I was able to work with intuitively (easy to use) was version 6. After that, everything got more and more complicated. Nevertheless, I always went along with all the updates, although I was no longer satisfied. For some time I’ve been using TRacks 5 mainly for mastering. It’s easy to learn, looks good, sounds good, has good metering (don’t want to advertise, just my opinion). In WLab I only do fine tuning, like: analyze RMS, mp3, write some meta data. That’s it.
Am I the only one who thinks the WLab has become too complicated and not intuitive anymore (for musicians) over the years?

NOT AT ALL. IT HAS BECOME BETTER AND BETTER THANKS TO PG. Not sure why you think it has become “too complicated and not intuitive anymore (for musicians) over the years?” It is especially great now that Justin is doing his “how to” videos…

4 Likes

Totally agree with Thomas-I’m a relative newb to the WL universe, but its sophistication and wealth of options make it indispensable for people who work with a variety of music and must deliver a variety of formats for the modern world.

Justin’s videos provided a helping hand to wean me off of my old Sonic Solutions/soundBlade habit, and along with PG’s ever expanding software, they’ve added years onto my career.

One thing about the current version (s) is that you can basically customize/make them look pretty much like WL6 … or any workspace you like really … if you want. Sure WL11 is loaded with power and a lot of this you might not use in the context of your personal workflow. Just remove what you don’t want to see from the workspace.

That said, I do make the observation that the tab based screen now is worth thinking about in terms of project and screen organization.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that the latest version of WL can be pretty much anything you want it to be.