Thougts and wishes about Dorico

After a while using Dorico, I’m very happy with the program and with the support we receive inside this forum.

I’m so happy that I wish I could use Dorico for everything.
As I’m a classical trained composer, I prefer starting my compositions through notes and score, not recordings and midi rolls like you’re forced to do in DAWs.

The drawbacks in Dorico are that you don’t have tools for sound design or working with particular sound libraries which offer you alternative articulations.

So my wish for future versions in this regard would be the ability to use properly and confortably this kind of libraries and also the possibility to put some sound design (audio files) in our Dorico Projects. Then I would export the project to Cubase or any other DAW to fine tuning things… or maybe not.

You see, I would like to work mainly in Dorico, because I love working with scores but at the same time I don’t want to give up on sound design options or especial libraries or synths.

Of course, I don’t want them to forget about the main purpose of Dorico, the Score. It’s just a few ideas or dreams I wanted to share with you.

1 Like

Thanks for your feedback, @reztes. I don’t think it’s unreasonable to expect that Dorico might have some simple audio tracks in future, though we have no plans to reproduce all of the audio recording and editing functionality of Cubase within Dorico. But to be able to have recorded tracks playing back along with the music played by Dorico doesn’t seem so unreasonable, and it is something I expect we will add in a future version.

11 Likes

"we have no plans to reproduce all of the audio recording and editing functionality of Cubase within Dorico. "
Would it be at least possible to add a loop function? So useful for practicing, composing, music theiry etc.