Tieing notes

Dorico 5 Beginner. When I try to tie a half note to an eighth, it becomes 3 eighth notes. See picture (hope the screen shot worked). How can I tie the half note to the eighth without changing the half note to 2 eighths?

Welcome to the forum (and to Dorico), @Sulaine !

While there are specific instances (involving “Force Duration” when entering notes) when a note duration might be unusually split into smaller tied values, I’m not sure how a half note could possibly become three eighth notes.

I think we’ll need to see a Dorico file from you to be able to help.

Here are some helpful guidelines from Daniel Spreadbury of the Dorico team:

What time signature applies to this measure?

@Derrek has a good question. You may even have a 3/4 time signature hidden somewhere.

Turn Signposts on and you will see.

If not, attach a sample project.

1 Like

The time signature is 4/4. Thank you.

I’m a Dorico beginner. What are signposts and where are they? Thank you.

Signposts “indicate the positions of important items or changes that cannot be seen in the score, such as key signatures with no accidentals, hidden items, and rhythmic feel changes.”

You can read about them (and how to show/hide them) here.

@Sulaine , I (and no doubt all of our fellow forum members) hope you’re enjoying your early explorations of Dorico! Did you use other notation software prior (I, for example, used a different app for 30+ years)? If so, there are a few paradigm shifts. And whether or not you have, it’s a robust application, and therefore there’s lots to learn.

I’d like to share a few things I found really helpful as I started to get oriented (and which I continue to learn lots from, in addition to searching this forum):

1. Dorico manual’s discussion of the fundamental concepts and design principles
  2. The Dorico YouTube channel (some of which are the videos embedded throughout the online manual)