Time signature BPM

Hi, i am not a musician as such and i dont claim to be , however i have a slight dilema, i have an analogue track from the 90’s which i put together and for the life of me i need some help, is there a way using CB Pro or any other application or method that could help me find the correct time signature and bpm of an analogue track? i know it can be done to a digital recording but analogue??? i just cant seem to work it out :frowning:

Any advice would be welcome
thnk you

Cubase as digital audio workstation software can only handle digital recordings. You need to record your analog recording in cubase first(connect your analog player to your audio device), then you can use it to calculate your tempo and signature.

See manual page 610 and following ones.

hi, thanks for the reply, yes i am aware that you can load the sound into CB but choosing the correct signature and tempo before importing is crucial, ie say i load the track into default cb, 120bpm, 4/4, if i try to add a media bay loop to the original track the loop will play at 120 which will be out of sync with the original recording, this is why i asked if there was a concrete way to determine the original bpm ts of the analogue
thank you

You set the tempo AFTER importing to Cubase.

Time signature is not so simple…but if you expect to be able to add lops from media bay I’m guessing this is a standard 4/4?

ok, grim but how would i know the correct tempo on an analogue track? also not necessary 4/4 because most loops i have tried just wont fit the bpm of the track :frowning:

You would run tempo detection to create a new tempo map for the project

See page 920 of the operations manual.

As far as signature is concerned you have to work this out for yourself…or put the music up somewhere so someone else can tell you.

now that sounds interseting :slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile: