Too many ways to configure reverb, which one is right?

Hello,

I am relatively new to Cubase effect processing, and I feel the variety of options it offers to configure FX can be confusing. I know it can be just a matter of personal preference, but a a newcomer I would like know about some established configuration practices or al least some starting points. Let’s take as an example adding reverb to a dry sound that comes from an external MIDI instrument.

So I recorded an audio track and created an FX channel track. I chose “Send” and here’re first decisions I need to make:

1. What level should I choose when I send a signal to an FX channel? Is it recommended to use unity gain (level “0”)?
  2. I can select “Pre-Fade” to send the audio signal with unchanged level. Is this recommended practice?
  3. If I choose “Pre-Fade” I can completely skip the original dry signal from the mix and only use processed signal. Is this recommended or I should start with blended signals?

I know that the general answer will be “it depends”, and it really does. However I feel there must be some initial setup, otherwise configuring FX can become chaotic. So if you have a systematic approach to adjust FX parameters I will appreciate your input.

Well… it depends :mrgreen:

Q 1. No it’s not usual to set the send at unity, it’s more usual to have the return (fx channel) level set at unity and to set the send level at the point where it sounds right

Q 2. No it’s not usual to have a reverb send set to Pre-Fade, you usually want the set reverb level to remain relative to the dry sound, this will not happen when using Pre_fade.

Q 3. Yes if you use Pre_Fade you can turn the dry signal down to nothing and have all effect. Unless you want a fully wet signal then it’s not recommended.

When setting up a reverb on a FX channel it is usual to set the reverb to 100% wet so as you turn the send from a channel up you don’t increase the dry level.