Track disable with Kontakt - Orchestral Template

Hi, I am completely new to Cubase and VSTs etc having been using Reason for years, (don’t ask!!)

I’ve just got started with Cubase and have 8.5. I’ve also just got a new PC running Windows 10 with 64Gbt RAM an I7 8 core proccessor and my libraries on a SSD.

I want to create a large orchestral template using Kontakt, (I’ve run out of cash for VEP).

I’ve figured out how to load multi-timbral instances of Kontakt into Cubase however I have a problem with disabling tracks and whether to use Kontakt as a Track instrument or Rack instrument.

I have spent 2 days now trawling these forums, YouTube and the net. I have found very useful tips but due to my ignorance, I feel that I am missing something very simple. I found this on YouTube ’ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMQmzbhtFsc '. This guy says that track disable only works with Track instruments and therefore uses one instance of Kontakt for each instrument thus he has loads and loads of instances of Kontakt in his template. My problem is that I did see another video with someone using Kontakt multitimbraly, (if thats a word) and still being able to disable particular tracks which also seemed to purge the specific instrument in Kontakt.

Which ever way I go, track or rack, when I disable the relevant MIDI tracks, Kontakt is not purging samples in the instrument routed to that track as I’ve seen happen on other YouTube template tutorials, (which I now can’t find), and therefore not cutting down on my CPU and RAM usage or my loading speed of my Cubase template.

Would someone be kind enough to talk me through the set up of Konakt so as I can disable the tracks I don’t need or point me in the right direction.

Apologies for the long post. As a newbie, I’m trying to make as much sense as I can :slight_smile:

Many thanks in advance.

Cheers. Phil