Track Lanes On Mute - CAN'T COMP! [SOLVED]

Hey All,

I’ve searched the forum and can’t seem to find this issue anywhere, but when I open an audio track in multiple lanes, and mute the bottom track, Cubase won’t play the track above it! It’s crazy. For example, with only two audio files stacked on top of one another, if I mute the lowest track, the only track above it (that is NOT muted) stays greyed out and WON’T play. The ONLY way to hear the top track is to DELETE the bottom track. CRAZY? I think so too.

I’ve been using Cubase for fifteen years, and the lanes for comping ever since it was introduced and 7.5 is the first I’ve seen this happen.

Is anyone else having this issue and if so is there a work around??

Thanks for any help out there.

There might be a preference to turn off the ‘new’ lane comping behaviour? I use comping a lot but I don’t have the latest version installed yet and I’ve never used the ‘new’ method of comping always the old manual muting way. But even going manual had bugs like that - when using the Play tool the wrong parts would play, but was OK when playing the song through… How about dragging the part down to a new lane below the muted part?

Mike.

Thanks for your reply. I understand what you’re saying Mike, but that defeats the whole purpose for having lanes. When I’m comping a pop vocal, for instance, I may have 15 takes cut up into literally hundreds of small pieces on sometimes all the takes. The ‘active’ lane should always be the bottom-most track that’s not muted. This is a pretty common editing practice for producer’s and engineers. I can’t think of a practical workaround other than the software simply ‘working’.

(1) I can’t believe no one else is working like this and (2) I can’t believe I’m the only one having this issue, unless (3) you’re right and I have some crazy preference unchecked (which I’ve searched for and can’t find). If that’s the case, it loaded that way on the install of 7.5 . Hmmm.

Still, thanks for your help.