Trying out Dorico-create custom ensembles?

I am brand new to Dorico. I write for a Zimbabwean style marimba band-Seven differently named marimbas all with their own ranges, and various custom percussion instruments.

Can I create a custom ensemble for my specific needs? I need to be able to create them and then have my instance of Kontakt play the specific sampled marimbas of our ensemble for each instrument. Thanks for any help!

1 Like

You canā€™t really save your own presets yet, but you can just setup one empty (as far as the actual music goes) project and save it as a jumping board in the future.

I agree with Luisā€™s advice, particularly because if you are going to use specific Kontakt patches, setting up the seven players and assigning the appropriate patches in Kontakt will save time when starting a new project. All you need to do is choose File > Save As to save your current project under a new name, then delete the existing flows in the project, then add a new flow and start writing. All of the existing setup in Play mode will then be retained.

1 Like

Neither of you actually answered his questionā€¦ as a fellow newcomer to Dorico (and music arrangement in general), his questions were RE: setting up a score, custom ensembles, and custom instruments (that arenā€™t part of the base setup or library).

I have similar questions as starting to arrange for a steel drum ensemble, but will try digging into it some more before inevitably bugging the forum with more pointed questions.

(for example, dorico provides a ā€œsteel drumā€ instrument, but steel drum is actually a family of instruments (leads, seconds, tenors, cellos, 6bass, and more, each with specific ranges/voicings/timbres

So, ā€˜custom ensemblesā€™ as in one you can use for ā€˜New from templateā€™ isnā€™t implemented (yet), but is easily worked around using the method described above.