Two issues with MIDI editor

I’m still new to Cubase so bare with me. I’m demoing Cubase 13 and I’ve run into two issues

As marked on the attached screenshot:

1. I’ve retrospectively recorded some MIDI but now I’m only interested in the selected part (the one within the left and the right locator). How do I crop/trim the MIDI clip only to the selected content and get rid of the reminding MIDI to the right and to the left?

2. Now, sometimes a small portion of the MIDI event/note gets out of bounds of the current MIDI part, like the one in the screenshot. For example, in REAPER, this wouldn’t be much of a problem, the note would play normally, it’d just be shorter. Is there a way to have this note play despite getting grayed out when it’s barely outside of the current MIDI part range?

bump.

1. You can grab those handles that say “LABS 01”, and slide them to the left so that they encompass just the part in the red circle. The rest of the MIDI events (notes) to the right, will stay visible alright, but they will change to white, because they are outside the part’s boundary. This is Cubase’s non-destructive editing in action.

If you do NOT wish to see the rest of the notes, you can first resize the part itself (the rectangle) in the project window so that it spans the length of part “1. in red circle”, and then use the scissors tool to cut the part where you want it to end (around measure 21?) and then just select and delete all that’s after the split.

1. You can either select and quantize the note so that it starts exactly on the part border, or you can slide the part border back a little.

What @ggmanestraki wrote is one method.
Another one is to set up Cubase so that it will automatically play back such notes as well.
Go to menu Edit → Preferences, there select MIDI on the left pane and then adjust the marked parameter:
grafik

2 Likes

I didn’t have the slightest clue that this was actually a thing.

Thanks Johnny!