Two Machine Licensing

Hi Daniel -

I just thought about Dorico today. I last asked this question about a year ago. I am a film composer (around 21 imdb credits) and currently use Sibelius. I was interested in migrating to Dorico but the licensing has always stopped me from doing so. As you know with Avid, you can register Sibelius (with a single license) on to two machines. I have done so with my studio desktop and laptop. No hardware required and I obviously don’t use both machines at the same time.

Had the same been doable for Dorico, I would have already switched. The solutions available when Dorico shipped last year plain just don’t work for me. Some years back when Gigastudio was still around, version 4 used a hardware security key and I was very unhappy with that environment. I used to forget the key and couldn’t start the sampler. Then I purchased two keys and over time they all seemed to break or come apart and needed to be taped back together. It was a barely workable environment for me.

Keep also in mind that when I travel with my laptop, I don’t always have Internet access, especially on planes and at countryside retreats for the non-profit I do community service for.

And so my preference would be a solution that does not involve hardware keys. But I don’t want to pay double for the software either or buy licenses for two keys (remember I may not have Internet for a temporary license should I forget the key in my studio).

What I would really like to see is a solution without hardware that either permits installation on two machines not used at the same time or a deeply discounted 2nd license, say $25 after purchasing or upgrading with a first license.

So what is the current situation and ‘future thinking’. I have stayed away from Dorico this past year and have recommended to my peers to stay away from any solution which requires a hardware security device.