Two Pianos, Eight Hands - Master Pages!

I’m currently working on editing a piece that the composer has written for 2 pianos, 8 hands. It took me a little while to get the correct layouts and master pages, but this capability is pretty incredible! Once I got my master pages correctly set up, I was surprised at how easy it is to not only have a full score, but also Piano 1 and Piano 2 parts both correctly configured with Primo on the right and Secondo on the left. Obviously I still have some layout, cues, and casting off work to make sure the pages of Primo and Secondo end together, but this would have been a proofreading and PDF compilation mess with Finale. Thanks Dorico team!

Oops, I wrote in too soon. If I have Primo on the right and Secondo on the left, how do I force multibar rests to be created on one page, if the other two hands at that piano are also playing at the same time? Maybe I don’t have this set up correctly after all. If I’ve created a Piano 1 part for 4 hands, is there a way to have multibar rests in the Primo for passages that only the Secondo has? Currently Dorico isn’t creating multibar rests unless all 4 hands at that piano are resting.

Heh, this is an edge case that we hadn’t considered. We currently look for multi-bar rests in all instruments in the layout, regardless of which music frame chain they’re in, so that means you will indeed only get multi-bar rests if everybody is resting. There’s no way to force a multi-bar rest where Dorico doesn’t think one should be, unfortunately. The only thing I can think of is to have each piano in a separate flow, which would work OK for the part layout but obviously isn’t practical for the full score.

Actually it does work. I tried a test example and it worked without issue.