Two players or three? Need guidance

This is a snippet from the first movement of Gustav Holst’s The Planets, Mars the Bringer of War.
I am having much fun with it, studying the score, and working with it in Dorico. I am just a hobbyist here though and I have run into an area where something seems a bit off in the original published score, or at least my ability to interpret it correctly.

The clarinets are condensed to three on a staff but in bars 34, 35, and 36 (I added the bar number to the snippet), you see a sixteenth with opposed stems. Normally, I would assume that this is two players. However, the engraver does use A3 on the bassoons, but then that note is tied.

My question: Is there a convention for condensing a single note for three players using up/down stems, (in some cases) or am I just reading too much into this, and it is (what it appears to be) just two players?

Anyone?

I don’t know for sure, but if you look at the other staves, you will see that they also jump from shared to split stems only for the sixteenth-note (and also do so for the bars before).

My interpretation is that the engraver didn’t want to use shared stem unisons to not give the impression that only one player would be playing.
So for me the instruction reads: „not only one player“, which in the case of flutes means two, and clarinets would be all three.

But that’s just an educated guess from my side.

3 Likes

I’m curious if there are other ways an engraver could show that note as a3 unison. Writing a3 for a single 16th note seems off somehow…

Here’s the part snippet, meanwhile:

1 Like

That is a good insight.