Unexpected behaviour when entering dynamics with the caret

Let’s say I want to input this:

(In this scenario, the notes are already there.)
I activate the caret on the first note, type Shift+D<Enter then hit Space until the hairpin is one bar long. Then I advance the caret with the right arrow key until it is at the third note. The hairpin does not grow further:

With the caret in this position, Shift+DPEnter gives the following:

To achieve the desired result, I’d have to de- and re-activate the caret, or move it to another staff and back. What am I missing here? Is there a setting somewhere that affects this?

Choose the first (whole) note and enter SHIFT + D + < + ENTER
Select the third whole note and enter SHIFT + D + P + ENTER

Don’t try to do it all in one popover.

1 Like

You do have a knack for not answering my actual question, don’t you? Imagine for a second that I’ve been using this software professionally for seven years, that I made up this example to be as simple as possible, and that I know about the obvious answers. Thank you.

1 Like

By the time you press the arrow keys to advance, you have already lost the advantage of fewer keypresses.

If you wanted a specific solution, show an actual problem that demands the more complex solution you are looking for.

Fine. Let me rephrase my ACTUAL question, as unambiguously as possible:
In the above scenario, why does the p not appear at the location of the caret?

Presumably the arrow keys used to move the caret have no effect on the spacing of the popover parsing. Perhaps @dspreadbury will comment when he has time.

That is a bit curious. If you stop the cresc hairpin with the designed ? key command and advance the caret (either using Space or arrow keys) through the second bar, the p dynamic ends up where you expect it.

Answering why your method results in unexpected piano placement, I’m not equipped to answer I’m afraid.