Upgrading Cubase with Windows 10

In the interest of full disclosure, I am not a professional audiophile nor am I a professional recording engineer. I am a full time gigging musician with a small home basement recording studio. I recorded my first solo full length album 3 years ago using Windows 7 a Zoom R16 interface and Cubase 6 DAW software. My learning curve was slow and my computer with only 3GB Ram was troublesome but I was able to produce a really good sounding record after much hair pulling and fits and starts.

I am in the process of upgrading my studio. I’m going to buy a new desktop and tower with at least 8 GB Ram if not more (recommendations?) My big question is will my Zoom R16 which is now about 6 years old be compatible with Windows 10 OS and should I upgrade to Cubase 10 and will that all be compatible? I have read many threads of people having issues. Also, Because I have a budget (remember I make my living as a performing musician) can I get by on Cubase 10 Artist or even Elements as I am not doing big productions in my home studio. Basic stuff, guitars/drums/bass/keys/vox etc. I don’t use midi. I want easy work flow and intuitive bells and whistles. Also, what is the easiest way to make this change over as far as registration, licensing, downloading new Software etc. when I get my new desktop set up?

Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated but if you get into too much Techy talk you will lose me. Treat me like I just came out of a cave…ha h aha. Sincerely Chris Fitz

Which version of Cubase 6 do you have?
I would start with that on the new PC to begin with. The procedure for installing the software on your new PC depends upon the version.
The version you currently have will anyway affect any savings you can make in upgrading. If you already have the version 6 equivalent of Pro then you can only make savings by upgrading to Pro (not Elements or Artist)…that is you can’t update to version 10 while downgrading the level and make any savings.