Use Sony PCM-M10 as a mic in Cubase?

Hi, I bought the Sony PCM-M10 so I could do some field recordings for my music as background ambience etc, works like a dream!

I would like to start recording my own vocal hooks and also recording foley etc, messing with sound design.

It’s a bit of a nuisance recording stuff, then connecting it via USB, transferring the WAV files, loading Cubase, importing the audio, then trying stuff out…

Is there any way I could use this mic inside Cubase like a normal mic, so I can hear the stuff I am recording almost instantly? I know you can buy vocal mics etc but this thing records my voice and whatever else incredibly well I may as well getting more out of it!

I’ve been working with DAWs since around 2000 and not once have I ever tried using a mic, so I know nothing about it sorry, which is quite silly considering how good my productions/mixdowns are getting these days lol.

If it helps, I just purchased the Steinberg UR12 Audio Interface, I am prepared to buy whatever I need to make this possible :slight_smile:

Any help or a kick in the right direction would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Hi,

I don’t know the mic. But in general, you will need an Audio Interface (which you already purchased). Then you will plug your mic to the Audio Interface. This will convert the audio signal to the digital world, and send data via USB to Cubase, where you will record it as an Audio track. That’s it.

I know some Zoom recorders similar to the Sony have the capability to be used as an audio interface. But the manufacturer needs to create firmware on the device to support this, and provide a driver for the computer to use it as such… Don’t know for the Sony - should be in its manual.

Or you can simply record data to the internal storage, and then just copy the WAV file to your computer, and use them in Cubase.

I’m sorry, my previous post doesn’t make sense. I thought, this is a mic (which is not). So you don’t need an Audio Device, here.