Using cubase 6

First, I will be up front. I don’t know. I joined this forum in hopes i can get some help. I just bought cubase 6 so i can get the most out of my music and be able to use a wider range of VSTi’s as i can. I am still in the learning stage of using computers for music production, though i have been using finale family of software since 2005. Learning to use Finale has been fairly easy for me and i upgraded to Finale 2011 just recently as well. And to say now I like using notation in Finale and I don’t wish to use the notation in cubase, though I have checked it out and wasn’t as comfortable with it as i am with Finale. My first question will be is how do i get set up for loading midi data into cubase. I played with other Daw software as a trial and it was fairly simple for me. But with cubase I am stuck at the project dialog box with the templates, and i don’t want to use the templates ( at least not the ones i see). I just want to start a project that I can load my midi tracks into cubase, and add new tracks if i find i need more. Any one willing to help me get started with this? I know you’ll probably need more info, and i will try to give it but bear with me, I may not know what you are talking about. I have Windows7, 64bit, using Finale 2011, and Cubase 6 educational version.

Thanks,
Eric

…and you’ve read the manual?

Why not work through all the tutorials first?

Hippo

Anyways, to answer your last question, when the Project Setup dialog opens, select “More”, then the option “Empty”.

You just need to import the .mid file into Cubase and assign the midi tracks to VSTi’s or your midi synths.