Using two Steinberg MR816's with ADAT for DM

Hi forum

I intend on buying a second Steinberg MR816x (hopefully on the second hand market) to expand my number of inputs for my home studio and to also have direct monitoring for all the inputs. I have done my research and read about all the drama that this has caused a lot of people and the shortcomings with the firewire connection etc and have weighed the pros and cons of it and concluded that the “limitations” of the unit do not concern my setup so much and that I would be happy for the foreseeable future if I can just get 16 inputs with direct monitoring for all via ADAT connection.

Now I have a question, I don’t actually use Cubease so the VST aspects of the MR also don’t concern me (one less thing to worry about), I have no fancy monitoring needs (just a pair of XLRs to my mixer then > studio monitors is all I need) and I have no experience of this aspect of the unit so some of the the literature on this particular subject goes over my head so I was just wondering if anyone could clarify some of the instructions on the Steinberg website in this regard for me.

On this page, https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support/knowledgebase_new/show_details/kb_show/mr816-monitoring-without-latency.html, I can follow all the instruction and it makes sense to me until about half way where they start talking about “SEQUENCER-SETUP” most of that information seems specifically related to Cubase and the VST side of things and routing for the “control room mixer” etc… I just want to know, am I right in assuming that I don’t need to worry about this section and all I need to do is to connect, fix my settings in the MR editor (clock, levels etc) and then I am done?