Using Yamaha p-95 as input for Dorico 3 SE

Hey - total newbie here (sorry…!) I hope I’m using this forum correctly so apologies in advance if I’m in the wrong Universe…

I’ve just downloaded and installed the new Dorico 3 SE with a view to making my first attempts at writing music (without pen and paper!) I’m using a MacBook Pro running MacOS Catalina 10.15.1. I have a Yamaha P-95 keyboard and, if I have understood correctly, I should be able to use this to input notes via MIDI. I have an old MIDI to USB cable which I have used to connect the MIDI IN / MIDI OUT on the Yamaha to a USB port on the Mac. A red light comes on on the little black box on the cable where the two MIDI cables become one (sorry - no idea about terminology), but I can’t see any evidence of a signal getting to the Mac. I understand that I should be able to see a little green flashing light in the bottom right hand corner of the screen, but no such luck. Basically, the setup isn’t behaving as it does in the lovely YouTube videos, and yet it all seemed so simple when watching! Obviously I’m missing an important piece of kit or I haven’t checked / unchecked the required options under preferences or something…either way, I’m clearly doing something very wrong.

Any advice would be gratefully received, and please don’t feel afraid to state the obvious here - you’re dealing with a real beginner and I promise I won’t take offence!

Many thanks in advance.

Welcome, frogsbird. If you go to the Playback page of Preferences and click the button ‘MIDI Input Devices’, do you see any entries in the list there?

Assuming it’s one of the cheapo MIDI-USB cables like the one I was using earlier this week, make sure that you’ve connected the Midi Out cable to the P-95’s Midi in, and the Midi In cable to the P-95’S Midi Out…

Wow, a P-95. That’s practically an antique :wink:

Yamahas are a bit tricky to setup - I used to work with a Yamaha P-120 - and they can be finicky even after you’ve got everything working.