VariAudio tutorial?

I have a solo harmonica track that I’m building a song around. It changes tempo a bit and I’d like to adjust those sections that are out of time with VariAudio. In one late night session I found a tutorial that explained the process very well but I didn’t bookmark it. Any help greatly appreciated.
Maybe Audio Warp is better for this?

Hi,

Audio Warp would do the job. VariAudio is more for the vocal tuning.

Thanks, Martin.

Okay. I’m a rank beginner in Cubase. The manual is not doing me much good in this process. Let me try this again. I have a harmonica track that is played with no breaks. In other words, it’s a continuous wave form, fairly rhythmic, but not in time in some places. I’m trying to time warp it so it is pretty much on the beat. How do I do it? Step 1, Step 2, etc. Thanks. At this point it is the only track…solo harmonica, right? I’m putting tracks over it. There is no click. It was not played to a click. Any help appreciated. Thanks.

If you look at the waveforms in VariAudio, more likely than not you’ll be able see changes in the shapes that correspond to note changes. When you enter Segment mode you’ll see that sometimes VariAudio will match up the segments with the note changes well, and sometimes not so well.

For the times that VariAudio doesn’t line up the segment boundaries with the note changes well, you can cut, drag, and glue the boundaries so they wind up matching well.

Then go to the tuning mode (sorry, I forget the name, you can get there by hitting tab from the Segment mode), and when you drag the boundaries left/right, you’ll actually be stretching the notes, so you can drag them to be right on the beat if you like.

This should get you at least 75% of the way there, with some peck and hunt needed to get the rest lined up.

Lots of others programs can do this as well, I use RevoicePro a lot (love it!), I’m sure there are many others.

Hope this helps, come back with more questions as needed!