Velociraptor disk cache issues

Hi,

I recently had someone install 2 500 gig ssd drives and a 600 gig Velociraptor drive in my comp. 1 ssd for OS and programs, the other for libraries and the Velociraptor for projects. Everything is working smooth except that I’m getting clicks and pops and the Disk Cache light is jumping up and down often when recording a project on the Velociraptor drive. Something as simple as turning loop on and off causes the cache light to jump and pops to happen. If I record on my old WD Caviar Black hd that i already had installed, everything runs perfectly fine. Could it be that the drive is bad or is there something else I can check that may have been overlooked when the drive was installed that could correct this? I’ve been using PC’s for over 10 yrs for audio but have to admit I’ve always had someone else build and upgrade my systems so I’m not the best when it comes to these things. Thanks!

Core i7
Windows 7
23 gig ram
C7.0.3

Really? That’s a lot!

One thing comes to my mind: is DMA enabled on disk controller?
Control panel → IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers → ATA Channel X → Properties → Advaced Settings

I wouldn’t use a Velociraptor for recording. The SSD will do a much better job there. Your overkill applies more towards a gaming system than a DAW.

@ Jarno,

Thank you for the info. I will check as soon as i get to the studio.

@ Draconis Systems

I already have it installed. Overkill aside, is there a disadvantage to using a velociraptor drive? If you have any suggesions on what may be causing this, i would appreciate it. Thanks again!

Yes! I’ve also got an ssd for the system drive and a bunch of sata for samples etc, and a velociraptor for an audio sessions drive.

I’ve been seeing really bizarre issues with the the disk activity meter freaking out, even when idle and not playing or recording - the meter pins and oscillates madly. Getting really poor performance compared to 6.5 on the same computer.