Vertical collisions

I’m new to Dorico and making the transition from Finale. I love how the program works, but there are some things I’m confused about that other programs do automatically. First, is there a way to have Dorico automatically choose the rastral size that’s best for the number of staves in your score? For example, when I start a project in Finale, there’s a default staff size, but if my score has too many staves to fit on the page at that size, Finale automatically scales them to fit on the page. As near as I can tell, I don’t see that happening in Dorico. It looks like I have to set that size myself for each file or I could have notes/articulations/dynamics/etc. overlapping. Dorico does a nice job of adjusting the vertical spacing to avoid these collisions if there’s enough space, but I have to adjust the staff size in order to make things small enough to create the vertical space it needs for these adjustments. Am I missing something here? Is this a setting I’m not finding, or perhaps a feature that is in the works but not integrated yet?

Thanks for your help!

Jeremy

There’s no automated way of doing this, and a cursory search would indicate that no-one on this forum has asked for such a feature. Maybe when someone from the team notices this thread they’ll note it as a feature request.

For the time being you’ll need to do what you’re currently doing.

I think there is certainly some value in having something automatic like a “fit into n pages” feature that could try to work out what rastral size would be needed, as well as what kinds of vertical spacing values might work. But in the meantime hopefully you will find it relatively easy to change the rastral size in Layout Options. You almost certainly know better than Dorico what you eventually want to see and thus what kind of layout is going to work best for your project anyway!