Vocal Recording

Hi Guys n Gals

Im having massive problems recording a vocal sound that i like. Ive gone through every available preset in cubase, and just wish i had a more simplistic approach. For example, a flat vocal, with a simple pre reverb and post reverb. It all seems so complicated. I should probably add that I’m new to cubase.

Kindest of regards,

Stevie

I should add that i find the built in reverb plug-ins difficult to work with

Might be worth going to Waves and downloading a trial version of the Abbey Roads Reverb Plates, have a play with that, is on a good price if you decide to buy. Is a massive CPU killer so depends on your systems power, but certainly worth a play. Good luck.

Professionals don’t record vocals with reverb except for the headphone mix. Reverb is added after the recording…
Most pros record vocals with compression and maybe gate that’s all.

If you’re new to Cubase I suggest watching a basic tutorial on how to record basic vocals and instruments.

1 Like

Yeah this vvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

Also give up using the presets. Fact is your results will be highly dependent on the specific mic you use, the room you are in, the singer’s voice, the instrumental arrangement, etc. No preset is capable of taking any of that into account and just creates a false sense that you are doing “the right thing.” You are better off to start recording the mic flat, nothing added - that’s your baseline. Experiment with the singer’s location & distance from the mic (a few inches can make a huge difference) and using different mics. Next judiciously apply tools like EQ, compression, reverb, etc. to modify the sound for the better. The general rule here is less is better. Don’t use a tool just because “you should”, instead only use a tool because it helps you achieve a sonic goal.

Audio recording is an art that takes time to master. There is no shortcut.

1 Like

And before spending money on another reverb, the included are excellent btw.