Volume set to 0db even though option is unchecked

Sometimes Dorico sets the volume on my Apogee Duet to 0 db, even though the “set device attenuation to 0 db” option is unchecked. This seems to be with a recent update, as I don’t remember this happening before about a month or two ago.

I haven’t figured out an exact pattern, but I think it only happens if I’ve used Dorico with my internal audio device and then return to my desk with the Apogee unit. It doesn’t always happen when I go back to the Apogee, but I don’t think it happens if I’ve only been using the Apogee. In other words, if I don’t run Dorico away from that audio device, I don’t think I’ll get slammed by the volume.

Thanks in advance for any help with this. It hurts!

Hi @stefan.podell, interesting case you have. I need to consult my expert on this and will come back to you asap. Thanks for your patience.

Hi @stefan.podell ,

in the window where that 0 dB Attentuation option is shown, at the top a version number gets shown. What version is that with you?

Hi, Ulf. I’m not at my office, so I don’t know if this is different if I’m connected to the Apogee, but I don’t see a version number. If it’s otherwise helpful, I’m running Dorico 6.2.30.6245.

I meant the little window that shows up when you push the Device Control Panel button

Hi, @Ulf. It took me a while to get back to my office! Version number in that window is 5.2.0.9 (Duet USB).

I don’t know if this is related, but I happened to have Dorico already running when I plugged into the Apogee just now. It didn’t put the volume to 0db that time, but it did mute the Apogee.

I think, in general, it’s best to connect things before you start Dorico.

They specifically added a feature in 6.1 that allows connecting and disconnecting a sound device after the program starts. And anyway, that misses the point of my original post. It seems to me that if I use Dorico with built-in sound, then quit, then connect to my Apogee Duet, then start Dorico, pressing “play” will slam me against the back wall of my office if I forget to check. This is new behavior, I believe since 6.2.something

Thanks, I notified my specialist. Some more patience please…

Thank you!