volume too loud on some tracks when project loads

I’m new to Cubase and having a problem when I load an orchestral project I’m working on. About 5 of the 40 tracks play at a much louder volume than it is set to. I have to go to each track and reset the volume even though it is correct (e.g., if the vol for trombones is 35, I have to double-click on 35 and type in 35+Enter). Then the volume is corrected. Any idea what’s going on?

Hi,

Are these a MIDI tracks? Do you send MIDI CC7 (Volume) while loading by any chance? Or Reset MIDI?

They are MIDI tracks. Not using CC7 or Reset (not sure what Reset MIDI is, actually).

I have a vague memory reading that midi modifiers in Inspector are sent once after load. Like program change and things like that.
Somebody correct me if I am wrong about this.

Track presets is also a source for confusion. When I started using Cubase Elements you could not remove those - like ever - once loaded. You could only replace with another one. Also read on forum how people have create blank presets to remedy that. Have avoided using that since, so not sure now how things are now. Something was really weird about track presets in how it was implemented.

Just some ideas…

If you want to avoid those headaches, turn midi volume OFF, and use the audio returns to mix levels.

I guess I’ll try that on my next project. Thanks. In the meantime, I’ll have to see if I can spot any difference with those tracks vs. the other tracks when I get home.

Instrument tracks - only have audio volume - no chance to mix that up. The midi recorded is never mixed up with cc7, unless external controller do.
Midi tracks though works like this - channel set to any - fader has no functionality and you are safe.
If targeting midi channel 1-16 - you send midi cc7 when changing fader, having monitor on or off does not matter.

So go with peakae suggestion already now, by setting channel to Any. Then you both record and play back with no cc7 interference ever.