VST Instruments not receiving midi

Hi folks. Forum newbie here…

I’m having the strangest problem and I’m hoping I can get a possible solution.

Out of seemingly nowhere, this has occurred, my VSTs produce no sound when playing them from my controller. Cubase will record the events and there’s clear indication of midi activity but not on the VST, yet it will sound when I play back any events recorded. The VST will also sound from its virtual keyboard but not from an external source… Obviously, I engage the monitor so I can audition what I’m playing.
All my drivers are up to date and I’m using the latest build of Cubase Elements. This is driving me nuts… I’ve used Cubase since the Atari days and can usually figure out what’s going on but this has me baffled!
I’ve raised a ticket with Tech Support but was wondering if anyone on here has encountered this issue?

I’m on PC running Windows 10
Keystep/Beatstep Pro as controllers

Not had a single issue before. I’ve tried reinstalling the drivers and the latest Elements update, as well as switching to different Devices.
Audio devices used are iConnect Audio 2, Line 6 Helix Floor, Elektron Digitakt and Behringer UMC 1820. All of which record/playback flawlessly.

If I had any hair left to tear out, it would be gone :wink: Any help would be most appreciated.

Have you checked the config in Audio Connections?

Yes, everything is as it should be. As I said the VSTs will sound from their built in virtual keyboard but they’re not being triggered via an external controller. It’s very odd!

Anything in MIDI Connections in Studio Setup amiss?

Does midi from the Keystep/Beatstep Pro as controllers appear in the activity meters on the transport?

Also, I would start in Cubase Safe Mode and disable prefs, just to eliminate corrupt prefs from the picture.