Vst Problems

Hi Everyone
I am new to home recording in this format, having dabbled with some Fostex gear when I first started. I have a fairly basic grasp of what I am doing, but that is all, I can just about find my way round my computer, but am endeavouring to learn. I am using a Presonus Firestudio Project as my interface, which is connected to a Windows XP Professional desktop computer(I am affraid I don’t know if it is 32 or 64 bit mmmm?) and using Cubase LE4 software, I have succesfully dowloaded several Vst’s with varying success, but now I have got hold of some new ones from Vst Platinum and have tried import them to my vst folder, which I have done, and they show up there, problem is when I open my song to work on, and try opening my inserts they are not showing in the vst box, and that is where I could do with some advise please. Also on the DVD ROM I have there are several synths and various intruments, which I tried to include, but not really sure how to do this either( I do not know a lot eh!).
Kindest Regards

Make sure you’re dealing with .dlls and not installers. The .dlls go in their own folder anywhere on the system, but you have to point to that location via Plugin Info- VST2.x Paths. Don’t put 3rd party VST in the Cubase VSTPlugins folder, make a VST folder in the next directory up and point to it.

If those files you’re dealing with are installers, you need to run them, putting the .dll in the folder you created.

Thanks for the reply Mashedmitten, I have tried that just this minute with some vst’s and still no luck , the vst 's are .dlls and show up inthe plugin information folder, but I am going to remove all 3rd party vst’s to a new folder even though all the others work well enough in normal vst folder. So much to learn :open_mouth: