Was my jump to Dorico a bit premature?

Hi
I have been writing scores on computer for more than 30 years. Back from Steinberg Pro, C-Lab Notator, Cubase, Finale, Sibelius and now Dorico.
I’m now in charge for a musical department in a publishing house and we consider a new master template. Dorico is interesting for us because it allows for several pieces of music - flows - in a common format, graphic and data wise.
In some of our musicals there are more than 50 small pieces of music, and the Dorico concept is really a major progress comparing to “the others”. Furthermore is the staff behind Dorico really competent, support are great and the progress in the development is awesome. But - because there are some “buts” :smiley: Dorico is lacking some major features that leads us to wonder IF and WHEN they will be implemented. For many of these features there are workarounds, most of them will have great influence on the working hours put into each score though:

This is far from complete, but to me this is of major importance:

1. MIDI record - to me and many others it’s MUCH faster to input a drum pattern or a reed part by playing, than using the keyboard. And it lets you kind of “improvise” ex. a piano arrangement.
  2. Text editor that let’s you edit lyrics really fast, with all the modern facilities known from Word.
  3. Export/Import of layout templates.
  4. Extensive keyboard shortcuts, that lets you use ex. Metagrid. Right now there are NO shortcut to toggle the chord symbols property “hidden”!