What a mess...

So I just took the plunge and upgraded my (mostly stable) cubase 5 to v6, even though 95% of the v6 features are useless to me (and most producers I know who don’t use much audio editing). However, I upgraded hoping to find a more polished, stable product. Of course, that didn’t happen…
1st of all, the new GUI enhancements are nice, but the new mixer is ugly as hell. As a graphic designer myself, I find it to be a step backwards in looks and quality. The rest of the GUI, though, is much more polished in v6. Also, the new automation features and enhancements are nice. Now on to the problems…

v6 x64 is far less stable than v5; some of my x64 VST’s such as omnisphere, RM V and the Virus Ti VST editor all seem to take forever to load, and when they do, they now occasionally crash cubase for no apparent reason. Also doing some banalities such as connecting midi channels to VST’s and re-ordering mixer channels sometimes cause crashes too.
Also noticed the media/loop bay takes forever to open and is sluggish to use and search.

In short, I’m sorry I upgraded, and will not be recommending v6 to anyone, as least until SB fixes this mess. Instead of using my new upgraded DAW and finishing some projects on a deadline, I’m forced to beta test SB’s upgrade, looking for what makes it crash in this version and finding new ways work around the problems. Problems I didn’t have in v5.
This is my first cubase upgrade, so I have to ask; is this considered normal for a new release?

Wait for the 5.5.3 update.

What would be the point? So I can use v5 after buying v6?
I didn’t pay for v6 to use an older version. It seems completely ridiculous to even consider it.