What does that bright blue region mean in terms of UI?

I’m a newbie.

Within the inspector view there’s a bright blue shape that includes buttons. I’m trying to infer and create a mental model of what it’s communicating. For example I’m assuming this is a very important feature since it’s highlighted in that shape. However it seems to just be Mute, Solo, Read, and Write.

Is there something I’m missing? Why is it visually emphasized like that?

1 Like

Commonly used features of a mixer. Mute, solo, record enable, monitor and automation read/write

2 Likes

Hej,
I’m not 100% sure, but probably because they are really basic functions that apply to almost any track.
Also it looks like the GUI from older cubase versions - maybe they just left it this way …

2 Likes

This is what Cubase (more precisely Cubase SX 1) looked like almost 20 years ago:

Wow!

It’s super cool to see that old Cubase face again. I started using Cubase with the SX3 version, which looked like this. I had to work with both Mac & PC platforms; Cubase was the most interesting and powerful software to perform this task at the time, compatibility was assured.

For the nostalgic, it would be really cool to have the current Cubase with all of its features and be able to give it that old look occasionally by switching from one to the other depending on our mood.

Well, that’s enough for the reminiscences, Cubase 11.5 will be here soon and I can’t wait to see what it has to offer.

So it’s in the blue shape because it’s commonly used? Okay.

To be honest I am a UI designer. I also teach the subject at a university. I’m also a musician. I… have a lot of problems with Cubase’s UI and I’m hoping people can make sense of it. I fear a lot of answers to my questions may be, “It looks like the GUI from a long time ago”.

Cubase looks like a Frankenstein UI and it inhibits our ability to quickly detect patterns and develop mental models of what the UI is attempting to communicate.

4 Likes