What does the 3 diagonal marks next to the VST Instrument...

Hello this is my first post. I’m a Pro Tools man but can’t say no to the expression maps anymore, besides Avids priority is to the engineers not the midi composers, and I’m not an engineer.

So first question what does the 3 diagonal marks next to the VST Instrument under “VST Instruments”? (F11)

Thank you.

Welcome to Cubase…!

The hash marks designate the version of the VST framework the plugin adheres to. Two marks means it is a VST 2.x plugin, three marks means it is a VST 3.x plugin. Steinberg updated the VST specification a while ago, bringing it to 3.0 – which adds some additional plugin functionality – so you could consider the hash marks a subtle form of marketing :slight_smile:

Despite the new specification being out for a while, and several obvious benefits (see below), only a few plugin manufacturers have actually started building 3.x plugins. I assume this is due to their having to rewrite their existing code…? Not sure how labor-intensive it is to take a plugin from the 2.x spec to the 3.x version!

Anyway here are the benefits of the new framework if you’re interested:

Cheers,

meta

Awesome answer thanks Meta.

So obviously I should go with the VST3 because more features are availibe to you should you be in need to use them, but I can only choose either Vienna Ensemble Pro with the 3 marks(VST3) or Vienna Ensemble Pro x64. So which one is more desirable because there isn’t a VST3 Vienna Ensemble Pro x64.

I thought two slashes meant a 32-bit plug bridged to a 64-bit host :confused: .

You’re right actually – when I go through my plugin list (Devices → Plug-In Information), the plugins that have 2 slashes are not only VST 2.x, but also 32 bit.

I seem to recall from another thread that Cubase 64 won’t acknowledge 32 bit VST3’s, only 32 bit VST2’s…so I think the summary goes something like this:

3 slashes = VST3 (and by implication 64 bit if running Cubase x64)