What is Dorico's user base and how do you use it?

I don’t want to start a flame war, but if I’m honest, I was a little disappointed with the new release. I don’t think I’ll be upgrading because what is offered in the release doesn’t really meet my requirements. It could be that the expression maps update would be handy, but it got me thinking on what the user base of Dorico is?
Personally, since jumping in at Version 1 I have been amazed at the part-production Dorico is capable of. So if I was in a role that needed high quality, quickly editable part production Dorico would be my first choice. Sadly, this doesn’t apply to me.
If I was an engraver (although I don’t specifically know what an engraver does) or someone being paid to produce printed music for retail, Dorico meets this requirement admirably.
If I was in full-time teaching, again Dorico’s ability to easily mangle the printed page would suit me down to the ground. I’m not.

I’m a composer / musician who trained in music therefore finds it second nature to think of music in terms of notation rather than piano roll, or any of the other myriads of display found in software. What I really want from a ‘DAW’ is a way of recording real audio that I can record live as well as reproducing audio that I can’t record live (like an orchestra or electronic sounds) BUT which allows me for the main, to think in terms of notation.
I’m surely not alone in this?

Do I need condensing? Probably not.
Do I need figured bass? Certainly not.
Do I need to be able to create ‘contemporary graphics’ possibly for contemporary music. Certainly not.