What is your Variaudio workflow?

Hi -

I’m just getting into using VA lately, and I’m trying to figure out a way to be most efficient with using it. Can I ask you VA Powerusers :smiley: to please give a few pointers on ideas you’ve picked up along the way?

For example:

1. With background vocals, would you do all the timing/lining up outside of VA 1st (warp, etc)? … Or, instead maybe bring the lead vox into VA for timing (and pitch of course), then bring it back out to the main project window to line the background vocals up with? Or do all your timing of all the tracks in VA (one at a time, of course) using the grid as a timing reference?

2. On a more granular level, what sequence works best for you when working on a vocal track? At the end of my session today, I sort of was wondering if (after working on segments of course) if it’s better to do the smaller, “subsegmental” pitch corrections like straightening and tilting before the full segment pitch dragging? I suppose this might be singer-specific … ?

3. Do you include breath sounds in your segments?

4. Does that not having formant correction present a big challenge? Does anyone actually go ahead and use the “transpose” function just so they can apply formant correction (I think that’s what page 292 is saying needs to be done…)?

5. Any other cool hints?

Thanks!

Hi - I thought I’d give this a bump in case someone didn’t get a chance to see it before it fell off the 1st page - thanks!

Hi Alexis, I use VA minimally, but when I do, its usually only for pitch… not so much timing. If there are timing errors, I would coach re-takes… depending on whom I am working with, I would also prefer human pitch correction through re-takes also. However, we all know that some folks need correction if the output is to be palatable. Or do you just tell them they cant sing! (there goes the pay cheque!) :laughing: