What to do about these mixing messes I get myself into

Ok I need some counseling from y’all. First, I’m an artist. I love creating. I get inspired and I want to record! I want to rap, sing, play, and vibe with the music I’m making. And as I’m doing this, I don’t want to mess around with technical headaches and pedantic crap. So as I create I slice, dice, duplicate, clone, etc etc my audio tracks without thinking much about groups, order, organization, etc. By the time the song’s done it’s just a big mess in the arrangement window. I’ve captured all my ideas but the mix is cluttered and noisy and requires a ton of cleanup. The cleanup is very very time consuming…. and sometimes in the process of cleaning it up the vibe and groove is lost. Does anyone else create and mix like this or am I an outlier? Anyway, there’s got to be a better way to create and at the same time not create a mess for myself. Any and all insights and suggestions appreciated.

m203,

I don’t know if my reflection will be useful to you, but I will share it with you anyway.

The creation process and the mixing process are actually two totally different processes. It is true that when one is in that of creation, there is always a certain mixing which is done, but it remains raw and cannot be regarded as definitive.

When I compose, I dedicate myself totally to this task. When I consider this process complete, I detach from it to dedicate myself to preparing the mix. I will convert everything to stereo or mono audio track. Clean all audio tracks of unnecessary noise and eliminate any volume that seems excessive if necessary (gain staging on parts of the audio tracks). I will take the time for each track to establish a sound level that will leave me enough room level. All this preparation will become a new Cubase file with only audio tracks and that takes time.