What would Cubase users miss when using Dorico?

So - Dorico has a mixer, plugin support, expression maps, piano roll, CC automation and notation. That’ brilliant!

So… what would a regular Cubase (or Logic etc) user miss if he were trying to compose and mix an orchestral mockup in Dorico?

I have no idea, as I am not a beta tester, although I would certainly like to be one! :wink: So I can only imagine … I think there will be some midi features not available in Dorico. And certainly, there will be no audio features, which are also essential for good mockups. So, even for a composer/producer only using software instruments, there will still be a reason to use Cubase. But the idea, that this program could be way more flexible in creating mockups does excite me, as that would mean spending most time in a notation program. As a film music composer, I also hope the video engine will be more flexible than in sibelius and more like in cubase … and the ability to sync tempo changes intuitively and in a way that invites for experimentation (yes, as a composer should know what you want, but sometimes it is great to test some things quickly).

Primarily, he will miss audio tracks.

That could be easy to deal with; SB only needs to give Dorico audio tracks first. :slight_smile:

That would indeed place Dorico in a different class to the competition.

I’m certainly hoping that in time (fingers crossed), when video file import/scoring directly to the movie, in addition to the video there will be at least few audio tracks available, as opposed to Sib/Fin currently hosting only the audio track embedded in the video. A no-brainer practical application for multiple audio tracks when scoring a film would be one for the dialogue/FX in the source film, and another for all the temp music (which could be brought in and muted as needed).