What's up for you in 2011?

Just post to ask what you are up to, expectations and plans this year.

My plans are to pretty much carry on doing what I normally do and learn the kit I have
inside out, no more kit purchases for a while, need to recoup the recent outlays.
Looking forward to spring time and getting some Marigold seedlings on the go.

Various projects in the pipeline mastering wise, with some HipHop, World Music and drum and bass
track going through the studio this week.

cheers

Well, it’s been an interesting start to the year for me.
Just taking a small break from the current project - mixing an album with a Kora and a full Bluesy/Jazz type backing band - fascinating, and something I have never done before. Great players too & a really nice project to be involved with - I’m now trying to talk them into some 5.1 mixes as well.

Our big thing for this year is going to be a huge investment in Blu Ray authoring tools.
We’re kitting up with Scenarist BD, BD-J, BD-Live, CineVision Pro etc - the whole bloody thing.
Hopefully it will pay off…it’s a scary amount of money.
(and for this package support alone for just the software is £3,750 plus VAT!)

That aside, more gear - I want another fader pack for my ID, the surround joystick, another UAD-2 Quad & some bigger screens for monitors…that should do it, I reckon.

Well I wish you sincerely good luck with that Neil, I am sure you will do it you seem like a resourceful chap
who knows what he is doing.

Let us know how it goes, I am spent a small fortune over the last 5 months on eq, comp and new PC, but thats what we do I guess, and like any small businesses they are calculated risks.

I have to say some of the new UAD stuff is getting my attention but it’s a relatively high
cost of entry compared with other deveopers. I think it’s around £500.00 for a solo and 1 top end new plugin. :open_mouth:

Well I am pleased to say my year is going well business wise so far since this post. Both new and returning