When attempting to enter notes, caret advance with no notes

This has happened to me several times. When attempting to enter notes, the caret simply advances by whatever the grid note value is without a note being entered. It appears to be random, I cannot see anything I am specifically doing. Three times I have had to throw away the project I am working on and start over. I am new to Dorico but there is nothing difficult about entering notes in Write mode. Has anyone seen this and what to do/fix this?

Any chance you’ve hit “,” (comma)? That’s the toggle for rest input. The solution is to hit “,” again.

That was it! I have only been working with Dorico a couple of weeks so these things happen I guess. :slight_smile: Many thanks!

On a related note, what’s the purpose of rest input? How does it differ from just pressing space at to advance by the selected duration? That’s what I’ve been doing, and the comma is just an accidental keystroke that sometimes throws me off momentarily. But maybe I’m not understanding its usefulness in the workflow.

When you activate both rest input and force duration at the same time you can force Dorico to group rests differently from what the current settings in Notation Options imply. Rests that you enter like this are called explicit rests (as opposed to implicit rests that Dorico creates on its own to fill the gaps between the notes).

Ah, makes sense. Still, seems like a lesser usage. I’d think it’s rare that someone needs Force Duration for rests. I wouldn’t mind if it were a less prominent function key. But I imagine the team is hesitant to change core UI at this point (even if they agreed).