Which is the way to go - Export a Sibelius XML or MIDI for Dorico 4 import?

Just a quick question.

Seeing as though there is alot of new import features for midi files in Dorico 4. Am i better off importing Sibelius 7 or later files as XML’s or just plain MIDI files now. Haven’t done alot of this. If anyone has any good tips on XML import settings or MIDI import settings in Dorico 4 that would be great. No stress. It could be just a bit of trial and error work ahead. I know that apparently Sibelius can access the Dolet 8 plugin natively or something along those lines (of which I’m no expert, just read it) so maybe this might enhance the XML’s in some way. Cheers and thanks in advance to anyone who responds. All the best, Simon.

XML transfers far more information than MIDI, e.g. lyrics, Tempo indications, slurs, dynamics markings, etc, etc.

One thing: I would advise looking over the Music XML import options in Dorico (under application Preferences), and de-select everything except for Note durations and Text. (If there’s anything you particularly want to keep, then you can consider selecting it.)

That way, your new project file will use Dorico’s Options to globally configure the document, rather than using ‘override’ properties on everything.